Guide: How do I add members and their information to my group?

There are several ways you can invite members to your group. Members can join via the group's website or Public Page or group leaders can invite members to join manually. Learn about the difference between inviting and Quick Adding members here.

 

If you have a list of your members and want to add them to your group right away without using invitations, the Quick Add tool is the way to go!

 

 

To Quick Add members to your group:

 

  • Go to [group name] > Utilities > Manage > Invite Members > Quick Add.
  • Choose a membership type, membership term, and forum notification setting for the members you're adding.
  • Choose how you'd like to add the information.
  • Add any additional or missing information for each member and correct any errors (highlighted in red) or on the errors tab.
  • Click "Update entries" when you've made your changes.
  • Click "Confirm and add" and add a custom message if desired.
  • Click "Add members."

 

 

 

About errors

 

Errors will be displayed in red and will be shown on the "errors" tab. Errors occur when you try to add members with invalid email addresses, or people who are already members of your group. When you have no additional errors, the "errors" tab will be empty and you can go back to the "all members" tab.

 

 

After you Quick Add

 

The system will queue your members and they will be added to your group. This process may take a while, depending on the number of members you're importing, so you may want to continue browsing the site. Don't worry, your import will keep working in the background, and you'll be able to add more members when it's done (limited to 100 members per day).

 

Once members are successfully imported:

 

  • You can begin communicating with these members right away via group news notifications, or via the forums, depending on your selected settings for the imported members.

 

  • You can track activation status by navigating to [group name] > Utilities > Manage > Invite Members > Track Invites. Members you've imported have an enrollment type of "Imported Member."

 

  • Members will receive an activation email. When they click the link in the email, they'll be prompted to confirm imported information, sign up for a BigTent account (if they don't already have one), and complete registration for the new group.

 

 

Powered by Zendesk